2018/19 Heineken Champions Cup Pool Draw

The Pool Draw for the 2018/19 Heineken Champions Cup will take place in Lausanne, Switzerland on Wednesday, 20 June at **2.20pm** approx (UK and Irish time) following the draw for the Challenge Cup.

The key principles and key steps integral to the Draw are explained below.

Key principles

- The 20 clubs which have qualified on merit from the TOP 14, Gallagher Premiership Rugby and the Guinness PRO14 will compete in the 2018/19 Champions Cup in five pools of four.
- The clubs are divided into four tiers based on their status as championship winners and/or on their qualification positions in their league tables. This will be done by a draw in advance of the main pool draw. The Champions Cup winners go automatically into Tier 1.
- Each pool will have at least one club from each of the three leagues.
- Each of the five pools will have one club from each of the four tiers.
- There will be no more than two clubs from the same league in a pool.
- No pool will contain two PRO14 clubs from the same country.
- Clubs from the same league will be kept apart until the allocation of the Tier 4 clubs.

Champions Cup qualification

For the purposes of creating the tiers, the TOP 14, Premiership and PRO14 and clubs are ranked based on their league performances and on their performances in the knockout phases. For clubs which did not qualify for the knockout phases of their leagues, or which were eliminated at the same stage of the knockout phase, rankings are decided by league table finishing positions and/or by other official qualification criteria.

TOP 14	Gallagher Premiership Rugby	Guinness PR014
1 Castres Olympique 2 Montpellier 3 Racing 92 4 Lyon 5 Toulouse 6 RC Toulon	1 Saracens 2 Exeter Chiefs 3 Wasps 4 Newcastle Falcons 5 Leicester Tigers 6 Bath Rugby 7 Gloucester Rugby	1 Leinster Rugby 2 Scarlets 3 Glasgow Warriors 4 Munster Rugby 5 Edinburgh Rugby 6 Cardiff Blues 7 Ulster Rugby

Tier 1

Tier 1 will include the **three** championship winners from the TOP 14, Premiership, and the PRO14.

Tier 1 will also include **two** of the three clubs which are ranked second from the TOP 14, the Premiership and the PRO14. The two clubs will be decided by a draw in advance of the draw for the pools.

Tier 2

Tier 2 will include the **three** clubs which are ranked third from the TOP 14, the Premiership and the PRO14.

Tier 2 will also include the second-ranked club which was **not** drawn into Tier 1, and the club which is ranked **fourth** from the same league as the club which was **not** drawn into Tier 1.

Tier 3

Tier 3 will include the **two fourth-ranked** clubs which are not in Tier 2.

Tier 3 will also include the **three** clubs which are ranked fifth from each league.

Tier 4

Tier 4 will include the **three** clubs which are ranked sixth in the leagues, as well as Ulster Rugby, the seventh-ranked club from the PRO14, and Gloucester Rugby.

How the draw works

Upon direction from the event MCs, Sarra Elgan (BT Sport) and Raphael Ibanez (France Télévisions), Dimitri Yachvili (beIN SPORTS) will draw the club balls and Austin Healey (BT Sport) will draw the pool balls.

Step 1

At this point, only the Tier 4 clubs are confirmed. A draw has to be made to establish the five Tier 1 clubs, and once Tier 1 is confirmed, Tiers 2 and 3 fall into place as per the key principles above.

The draw takes place to determine which **two** clubs from the three clubs ranked number two in the leagues will join the three championship winners in Tier 1.

The three championship runners-up balls – Montpellier, Exeter Chiefs and the Scarlets - are placed in the drum, and two clubs are then drawn into Tier 1.

Tier 1 clubs

Castres Olympique (TOP 14 winners)
Saracens (Premiership winners)
Leinster Rugby (PRO14 winners)
XXXXXXXX
XXXXXXXX

Step 2

Once the Tier 1 clubs are established, the five Tier 2 clubs can be confirmed as follows: the three third-ranked clubs in the leagues – Racing 92, Wasps and Glasgow Warriors – will be joined by XXXXXXX who were not drawn into Tier 1, and by the fourth-ranked club from the same league as the club which was not drawn into Tier 1.

Tier 2 clubs

Racing 92 Wasps Glasgow Warriors XXXXXXXX XXXXXXXX

Step 3

Once the Tier 2 clubs are established, the five Tier 3 clubs can be confirmed as follows: the two remaining fourth-ranked clubs, XXXXXXX and XXXXXXXX, and the three fifth-ranked clubs, Toulouse, Leicester Tigers and Edinburgh Rugby.

Tier 3 clubs

XXXXXXXX

Toulouse Leicester Tigers Edinburgh Rugby

The clubs in Tier 4 are already confirmed as follows:

Tier 4 clubs

RC Toulon
Bath Rugby
Cardiff Blues
Ulster Rugby
Gloucester Rugby

Step 4

Each of the five Tier 1 clubs are drawn, followed by a pool number for that club.

Step 5

Draw for the five Tier 2 clubs. As each club ball is selected, a draw is then made to allocate the club a pool from the available pools based on the key principles above. Some clubs may have to be placed directly into a pool in order to ensure the key principles apply.

Step 6

Draw for the five Tier 3 clubs. As each club ball is selected, a draw is then made to allocate the club a pool from the available pools based on the key principles above. Some clubs may have to be placed directly into a pool in order to ensure the key principles apply.

Step 7

Draw for the five Tier 4 clubs. Again, as each club ball is selected, a draw is then made to allocate the club a pool from the available pools based on the key principles above. Some clubs may have to be placed directly into a pool in order to ensure the key principles apply.